Login Search
Printed from: http://www.napcrg.org/Programs/AwardsProgram/DistinguishedTraineeResearchAwards

Distinguished Trainee Research Awards


Purpose: The Distinguished Trainee Research Awards are intended to promote and acknowledge outstanding completed primary care research conducted by trainees. 

Eligibility Criteria: Undergraduate students, medical students, graduate students, residents, and fellows submitting an abstract as the primary (first) author are eligible to receive a trainee award. Only abstracts submitted as completed research projects will be considered for a trainee award.

Evaluation Process: All trainee abstracts submitted as completed research projects during the spring and summer submission period will be evaluated through NAPCRG’s established peer-review process.  The top six scoring abstracts will be considered for a trainee award.  

The Awards Committee Chair will contact each trainee, via electronic mail, to inform him/her that his/her work is being considered for a Trainee Award.  The trainee will be required to confirm that the submitted abstract represents his/her work.

Selected trainees will be invited to present their work at a special Trainee Designated Oral Presentation session to be held on Saturday, November 10, 2018.  Members of the Awards Committee will evaluate presentations to collectively identify award recipients.  

Awards will be given to recognize the top 3 research projects by trainees. The Dr. Barbara Starfield Award will be awarded for the best completed research project by a trainee.  All Distinguished Trainee Award winners will be recognized at the Awards Breakfast during the Annual Meeting.  

First Place (Starfield Award)

  • Cash prize ($250) 
  • Certificate


Second Place


  • Cash prize ($100) 
  • Certificate


Third Place 

  • Cash prize ($50) 
  • Certificate


Honorable Mentions 


  • The other trainees will receive an Honorable Mention designation and certificate.  

If you have questions and/or require any additional information regarding the trainee research awards, please contact Dr. Lorraine Wallace, NAPCRG Awards Committee Chair at lorraine.wallace@osumc.edu or (614) 366-1785.