Building Research Capacity (BRC) Program

BRC is a joint initiative between ADFM and NAPCRG in cooperation with STFM. All family medicine departments and residency programs seek to build or sustain their research and scholarship capacity. That’s where BRC comes in. 

BRC provides opportunities for all departments and residency programs to engage in a mutually beneficial learning community to leverage our strengths and resources for building research capacity. BRC offers a Brief Consultation Service and a Curriculum for all interested departments and residency programs and an Extended Consultation Service on a limited basis. 

Three BRC Components: 


BRC is developing curricular elements which are aimed at helping departments and residency programs begin to put building blocks in place for growing research capacity. 

Core Curricular Topics

  • How to build a culture of inquiry
  • How to think about & approach the value of collaboration in research
  • Leadership as a critical component of developing and sustaining research capacity
  • Research faculty development, support & skill development
  • Building the research team
  • Financing and staffing research infrastructure
  • Developing and leveraging existing family medicine research labs

Brief Consultation Service (BCS)

  • An inter-department/inter-residency/inter-institutional Consultation Service
  • Experienced research leaders provide brief consultations on research and scholarship capacity building

Extended Consultation Service (ECS)

  • Two-year Extended Consultation Service at the institutional level
  • Initially launched for two groups of department and institutional leaders

Assessment & Evaluation 

Measurable outcomes will be defined for both short-term and long-term -The ultimate impact of the Extended Consultation Service on a department and institution may take decades, not years, to fully realize.



Volunteer members contributing to BRC are many – 


Bernard Ewigman, Chair, ADFM
Dana King, NAPCRG
Tony Kuzel, Co-Chair, Consultation Workgroup
CJ Peek, Co-Chair, Consultation Workgroup
David Schneider, Chair, Curriculum Workgroup
Lynn Meadows, Chair, Assessment and Evaluation Workgroup
Daniel Knight, ADFM Liaison
Jim Beal, STFM Liaison
Sherri Morgan, AFMRD Liaison
Lee Green, Advisor
Frank deGruy, Advisor
Ardis Davis, Executive Director, ADFM
Tom Vansaghi, Executive Director, NAPCRG

BRC Assessment and Evaluation Workgroup

Lynn Meadows, Chair
Lee Green, Advisor
Bernard Ewigman, Steering Committee Liaison
Tanvir Turin Chowdhury
Jodi Holthrop
Chip Mainus
Chris Morley

BRC Consultation Workgroup

Tony Kuzel, Co-Chair
CJ Peek, Co-Chair
Lynn Meadows
Bernard Ewigman
Lloyd Michener 
Ardis Davis
Tom Vansaghi

BRC Curriculum Workgroup

Dave Schneider, Co-Chair
Dean Seehusen, Co-Chair
Sandra Burge
John Hickner
Fred Miser
Donald Nease
Michael Parchman
Hazel Tapp
CJ Peek
Lynn Meadows
Kola Okuyemi
Michael Hosokawa, Advisor
Paul Crawford, AFMRD Liaison

Staff Resource: Leyla Haddad, MBA; NAPCRG Program Manager

For more information about the BRC program, contact Leyla Haddad at


Social Media